Hawk – Africa She Too Can Cry

SKU: FRESHCD137 Categories: , , , , ,


Hawk’s second album and the first to feature the new lineup which included Julian Laxton (Freedoms Children) and Les Goode (A Cads) among others. This reissue included an updated version of the “African Day” suite from the first album as well as a song penned by Freedoms Children’s majordomo, Ramsay Mackay. Although the African rock roots are still intact there is a harder edge to the sound mainly due to the guitar interplay between Laxton and Mark Kahn. The original album’s tracks, re-mastered, are from the UK version of the album, released by Charisma Records ( the SA version had a different tracklisting). There are bonus tracks galore, rare pics from the UK tour, and extensive liner notes.

Hawk was pioneering, fusing rock, folk, and pop with an African beat. Various incarnations flowed through the band while releasing three albums during the early ’70s. Another diamond for South Africa’s contribution to the bible of Rock, prog-folk Hawk paved new paths for many to follow.


01. Uvuyo
02. Elegy For Eden
03. The Rolling Of The Bones
04. Dark Side Of The Moon
05. War Talk
06. Africa
07. African Sun
08. This Elephant Must Die
09. Beaters
10. Hunt
11. The Elephant Is Dead
12. Nglovu Ephélé
13. Yebo Mama
14. Sunset
15. Orang Outang (Bonus Track)
16. Kalahari Dry (Bonus Track)
17. Mumbo Jumbo (Bonus Track)
18. Hunter (Bonus Track)
19. In My Youth (Bonus Track)

Stay up to date

Get notified about the newest products and upcoming sales

Review our Privacy Policy

Visit Our Store

Vinyl Junkie
Shop 3, Delta Heights
94A Conrad Drive, Blairgowrie
Randburg 2194, South Africa

Tel: 082 490 2743

Vinyl Junkie on Bidorbuy.co.za

Operating Hours

Mondays & Sundays - Closed.
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Fridays - 10am to 5 pm.
Thursdays - 12 pm to 5 pm.
Saturdays - 9 am to 2 pm.
Public Holidays (except when it falls on a Monday) - 9 am to 1 pm.

Refund Policy

All 2nd hand records are visually graded. Faulty 2nd hand records can only be returned and/or refunded within 7 days from the original date of purchase or delivery. New sealed records may only be returned or refunded if they are still sealed. Exchanges are at the owner's discretion and are not binding or guaranteed.